Faculty of Science

Welcome to the Faculty of Science

We are a thriving community of scholars, researchers and teachers with a passion for learning and exchanging ideas.

Our mission is to create, disseminate, and apply scientific knowledge. We innovate and excel in teaching and research, so as to advance the goals of the University and the development of society.



Grad Research: What Happens When Humans Remove Predators?

PhD student Robert Lennox and a team of researchers have discovered that removing predators such as wolves or sharks can have a negative impact on predator and prey populations. Instead, the researchers argue that there are more effective measures that can be taken. The results are available in an academic journal called "Biological Conservation". Lennox wrote about his research in "The Conversation".

Saving Lives from Opioid Overdose

“This is potentially the most impactful research I’ve ever been involved with,” says Carleton Chemistry Prof. Jeff Smith, director of the Carleton Mass Spectrometry Centre (CMSC), who is helming the technology part of the project in collaboration with principal investigator Lynne Leonard from the University of Ottawa’s School of Epidemiology and Public Health.

Carleton hosts 2018 Canada Wide Science Fair

Five hundred of Canada’s top young scientists are at Carleton University from May 12 to 19 to showcase their innovative projects, with an expected attendance of some 10,000 members of the public, students and educators.