Each year we present awards to faculty and instructors in honour of their outstanding work in teaching, supervising and mentoring our students, as well as excellence in research and the impactful contributions they have made in the overall performance of their duties.

On Dec. 9, Dean of Science, Maria DeRosa named the recipients for 2022 at our annual holiday event. Congratulations to the awardees!

Teaching Excellence Award

David McMullin, Department of Chemistry

Ahmed Almaskut, School of Mathematics and Statistics

Laura Pickell, Department of Health Science

Katelyn Godin, Department of Health Science

Rowida Mohammed, Department of Health Science


Research Excellence Award

Joe Bennett, Department of Biology

Catherine Cullingham, Department of Biology

Sonia Chiasson, School of Computer Science

Impact Award

Heather Logan, Department of Physics

Andrew Runka, School of Computer Science

Sue Aitken, Environmental Science

Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Award

Seyda Ipek, Department of Physics

Melissa Chee, Department of Neuroscience